Electronic Media Career

(WB 6)

As mentioned on this blog probably about 100 times already, the media that interests me the most, and the one I would most definitely want to have my career in, is television. I know the great impact TV can have on its audience, I learned that myself growing up watching a lot of TV, and I now what to have a say in the kind of content produced. I still watch a lot of TV, I probably follow about 30 different shows at the moment, and the content is a lot better than what it was when I grew up, but there’s still room for improvement.

According to a report made about prime-time TV for the 2013-2014 season, “women comprised 27% of all individuals working as creators, directors, writers, producers, executive producers, editors, and directors of photography”. Only 27% of the content creators in broadcast TV are women!! No wonder why women are underrepresented and misrepresented on TV when they barely have a say on what goes on air! Cable, satellite and online sources like Netflix aren’t doing any better, the same report says that only 25% of the key behind-the-scenes roles were held by women for the 2013-2014 season..

These numbers don’t scare me, they excite me! This shows that the TV industry needs to change, and I want to be that change. There’s room for more women behind the scenes in the TV industry, because now people are finally realizing that shows centered around women, shows with female leads, can be just as good, funny, critically acclaimed, interesting as shows about men, just look at Orange Is The New Black, The Good Wife, Jane the Virgin, Girls – awesome shows about women with at least one woman creator.

It’s a tough business, I know that too, but if I get to make a difference at least one tiny bit, then I’ll be happy.

Screen Shot 2015-06-09 at 11.43.10Comparison of women vs men working behind the scenes in broadcast TV

Screen Shot 2015-06-09 at 11.42.52Percentages of females employed behind-the-scenes in broadcast TV

Leave a Reply

