Internet. Is. Everything.

(WB 5)

I know it, you know it, we all know it – internet is everything in today’s society. Can you imagine living without it? I’m a millennial, I grew up with the internet so I can’t literally remember a time when the internet wasn’t a part of my daily life, but of course, it’s never been as big as it is today and it’s probably just gonna get even bigger. Back when I was a kid just learning how to navigate the internet, I used it mostly for emails, as a means to communicate. Later on came chat rooms and instant messaging, but then again, I used it mostly to communicate. Then came online games, websites started to pop up, Google, Wikipedia and I could check everything from the bus schedule to a new recipe online!

Now it’s everywhere, the internet is no longer confined to computers but accessible on smartphones and tablets, with apps that can handle everything and a bit more. I probably use the internet more on my phone that on my computer now… I am so dependent on the internet and being constantly connected to the rest of the “world” (the online world, that is), but I am also a bit afraid, or at least worried, on what’s to come. Are we all going to have a like a computer chip implanted in our heads so that we will be able to connect to the internet directly to our brains someday?! I have no idea what’s going to happen, all I can say is that it’s moving SO FAST. 20 years ago, the internet wasn’t big, not a lot of people used it, but now… Oh boy, it’s everywhere!!

Screen-Shot-2015-05-28-at-10.07.34-AM

http://www.forbes.com/sites/micahsolomon/2014/04/21/millennials-the-biggest-generation-of-customers-ever-dont-care-about-the-internet/

http://www.nielsen.com/us/en/insights/news/2014/millennials-technology-social-connection.html

Leave a Reply

