Social Media Detox?

Ah, social media, what a love/hate relationship we have! I don’t think I’ve ever had a break from social media longer than a day or two for the past five years or so, and I’ve also often thought about taking a break or detox from it, but then again, when will I have the time to do that?

I have to check my emails several times a day to be updated in school and with work, I read the news online and I talk to my friends and my family overseas via Facebook. Or do I really need all that? I don’t think the world, or my world for that matter, is going to collapse if I don’t check my phone every ten minutes, because just as the author comments this fear of missing something is just absurd really: “[W]hat I was afraid to miss? A direct message or comment? A ‘like’ or new follow? Someone’s selfie?”.

These things have come to run my life, checking my phone the first and last thing I do every day, instead of for example reading a book like I used to when I was younger. I am definitely planning on having a detox soon enough myself, but yes, I’m still a bit afraid of what I’m going to miss, which honestly just make me feel a bit ashamed of myself!

(Originally written on 2014/12/11)

Leave a Reply

