Sisterhood Is (Still) Powerful

To some extent, I can relate to the reading; I’ve heard the same from many of my friends and I too have seen the mean girls and the bitchy girls all around the media and encountered them in real life too, but for the most part, I have lived in a different sort of world. While some might say I’ve just been lucky to have such good and nice girlfriends ever since I was in kindergarten, I’ve just always known that girls were awesome!

Personally, I’ve always had it easier to connect with girls, I’m the opposite of a drama queen and I tend to draw out the calm in others too; the “mean”, the “bitchy”, the bullied and the lonely girls were all my friends. I’ve met so many interesting and incredible complex and deep girls and women over the years, and I’ve witnessed and partaken in so many struggles, achievements, broken hearts, celebrations and problems being shared between the girls I’ve known, but also how they have helped each other through thick and thin, like family.

The most important relationship for me right now is the now is the one between me and my phone, because for the last 5 years when I haven’t been able to see and talk to my best friend every day like we did before, we still text each other every day. I don’t know where I would be or what kind of person I would be if it wasn’t for her and her advising me on basically everything, even if I want it or not. I might not know everything about her, or she about me, but she is still the closest, longest and most important relationship I’ve ever had in my life so far. Girls can be bitchy and mean, sure, but they can also be pretty awesome and I knew that before taking this class, now I’m just learning more about how to spread this to those who are not yet convinced about it!

(Originally written on 2014/12/11)

Leave a Reply

